Nearly a Century Carrot Cake

carrot cake pecans cream cheese frosting
My grandmother, whom I call Memere, has style. In her youth she worked for the government in D.C. during World War II, and dated servicemen and undersecretaries. In her prime she wore furs and diamonds, and traveled the world. When I was a little girl, she brought me trolls from Norway and teddy bears from Ireland. She made pickled shrimp and pork rillettes at Christmas. And in her old age she has a story for every occasion.

Memere recently celebrated her 90th birthday, and we took the Nuni down to visit her. And because everyone deserves a homemade cake on their birthday, and 90th birthdays deserve extra special consideration, I took a homemade cake.

Savour Fare has moved! For the rest of the post and the recipe, please visit Savour-fare.com

8 responses to “Nearly a Century Carrot Cake

  1. She doesn’t look a day over 70! What a lovely cake and story. (And those are beautiful carrots!)

    • Carrots from the farmer’s market. The Nuni (thoroughly indoctrinated by the Easter Bunny) got a big kick out of them (the ones I didn’t make cake or carrot pudding out of) and insisted on carrying them around the house, chomping.

  2. Hi there!! Love your blog. This carrot cake looks particularly delicious. And Memere sounds fabulous. Loved your post about her. Oh, in answer to your question, I used corn syrup to increase browning in my cookies because sometimes acid can inhibit browning ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Carrot cake is my brother’s favorite! I’m looking forward to making one for his graduation party ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Erin @ What A Trip

    I loooove carrot cake. Tucking this recipe away for a special occasion. Happy belated birthday to your Memere!

  5. Perfect timing on this post, for me at least! I’m baking a layer cake for my mom’s birthday this Friday and have to drive myself 2.5 hours but stop to get an oil change on the way. I don’t have an old fashioned tin cakebox, so your solution of a large bowl over nut studded frosting is excellent! Thanks,

    Kathy

  6. hi
    new to your post discover lovely pictures and yummy receipes, thanks for allowing me to feast my eyes.

Leave a comment