Cinco De Mayo 1 – Aztec Chocolate Cookies

chewy chocolate chili cookies mexican aztec mayan

I am rather more-ish when it comes to cookies. You will probably not find me waxing rhapsodic about the simple charms of a basic, not-too-sweet butter cookie. I want a little more going on when it comes to cookies. More flavors, more textures, more zing. And more cookies please.

Savour-Fare has moved! For the rest of the post and the recipe, please visit Savour-Fare.com

10 responses to “Cinco De Mayo 1 – Aztec Chocolate Cookies

  1. How spicy are these? Im not a spicy foods person so I definitely can’t live with spicy cookies. If I omit the chiles, would they still be good?

    PS: I still want you to do a guest post if you have time to write one up this week. Im going to be out of blog range starting next week 🙂

    • They’re spicy, but you could a) cut down on the chilis or b) omit them altogether and they would still be great.

  2. How perfect for cinco de mayo! If you omit the chilis is there another spice that would be a good substitute?

    • If you omit the chilis there’s still some heat and spice from the cinnamon and ginger. If you want a little spiciness you can add a pinch of cayenne. If you want the smokiness from the chipotle you can add some smoked salt or smoked paprika, but I’d go with closer to 1/4 teaspoon.

  3. I’m printing out all the recipes for Memere. She thinks you are very clever and so do I.

  4. I love chocolate combined with chile spices! These looks wonderful. Have you ever tried any of the Spicy Maya hot chocolate from Chuao? It is out of this world good in a mocha.

  5. how many cookies does this recipe make?

    • It should make about 2 dozen, give or take a few depending on how big you make them and how much dough you eat.

  6. I am loving the combo of chocolate and chili lately. Adding these to my list.

Leave a comment