Homemade Hummus

Hummus humus hummis chumus garbanzo chickpea

Every night on my way home from work, I drive through Little Ethiopia and fantasize about Ethiopian food. Ethiopian food, if you’ve never had it, is usually made of a variety of fantastically spicy stews served on this spongy flat sourdough bread called injera, which is kind of a cross between a pancake and bread. I started thinking about making Ethiopian food at home, and since injera is integral to the Ethiopian food experience, I started scheming as to how to make my own injera too. It’s made from a grain called teff, and you need your own teff based starter that captures wild yeast, and you need to make it over at least three days and …

Do you see where I’m going with this? I literally DRIVE THROUGH LITTLE ETHIOPIA ON MY WAY HOME EVERY DAY. How much easier would it be to just stop one night and pick up some Ethiopian food and injera than it would be to go through the whole rigmarole of finding teff, getting a starter going, making the injera, making the stew not having it taste nearly as good AND then doing the dishes? I’m a big believer in jumping into cooking projects, because homemade is usually better and easy to make, but some culinary escapades just don’t make sense.

Hummus, however, is not one of those escapades.  Yes, you can buy about sixteen varieties of hummus at nearly every grocery store, but it is totally worth making at home, since it is 1) a snap to make 2) inexpensive and 3) infinitely customizable.

Savour Fare has moved! For the rest of the post and the recipe, please visit Savour-Fare.com

6 responses to “Homemade Hummus

  1. Your hummus has a beautiful texture. Thank you for sharing the tip about using water instead of oil. I think that has been the reason my hummus never ends up nice and fluffy. We can’t wait to try this recipe!

  2. My husband loves homemade hummus – me not so much. Used to, until I got food poisoning from eating a meal that included hummus. Now it just brings back awful memories every time I eat it.

    I may try out your methods to make it for him though!

  3. i like to add a tbs of cumin powder for extra taste.

  4. Hummus is a new vegan staple in our house- I will have to experiment with making our own. We never have fewer than 2-3 tubs of it. (The edamame one from TJ’s is a new favorite.)

    I do like injera as well 🙂

  5. I love hummus and usually prepare Lebanese hummus. I will try this ethiopian version, sure it is going to be tasty.

  6. We gave this a try tonight and WOW- the water made a huge difference. I loved the fluffy texture! And it is so easy…I see lots of hummus in our future! Thank you for sharing the recipe.

Leave a comment