Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwiches

Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwich Pimiento

My grandmother belongs to that certain generation that came of cooking age in the 1950’s and embraced the introduction of convenience foods with fervor.   This means that Cool Whip is in her freezer, Jello is in her salads, and every dinner party starts with crackers and spreadable cheese — a lurid orange concoction with unpronounceable ingredients that conveniently comes in a tub, or, for more elegant occasions, a ball rolled in pecans.  (To be fair, my grandmother is otherwise a very good cook, and it is entirely possible that my grandchildren will find my ca. 2009 obsession with sriracha and pico de gallo to be equally quaint.)

When I was asked one time to bring hors d’oeuvres to a family party (all parties in our family are potlucks) I cast about for something new besides the regular old brie and crackers, and remembered a program I had seen on the Food Network.  On this program, someone had been exploring the food traditions of this exotic land they called the American South, and had set forth at length about a cornerstone of this food tradition — pimento cheese.  Bingo!  I thought, homemade spreadable cheese.  I figured my grandmother, at least would appreciate it.

Savour Fare has moved! For the rest of the post and the recipe, please visit Savour-Fare.com

6 responses to “Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwiches

  1. I will be making this one…my husband has requested pimento cheese, like they serve at Augusta for the Masters Golf Tournament. I have lost my original recipe…this one sounds great! Thank you. I will be linking this is a terrific site!

  2. Psst: this turned-Southerner says, try pimento cheese on a grilled burger, preferably with a nice thick slab of bacon, you won’t be disappointed (although your arteries may need a week to recover)… 🙂

  3. The ooze alone lets me know this had to have been tasty!

  4. I really like the sound of this grilled cheese sandwich! Great flavours!

  5. This looks amazingly weird and delicious! ;D I LOVE bell peppers!! Totally gonna try this!

Leave a comment